ORLANDO CRIMINAL LAWYER
When I was a prosecutor in Orange County, my goal was to pursue justice for the public and now as a criminal defense attorney, my only pursuit is justice for the accused. I am committed exclusively to the practice of criminal law so my clients know that all of my knowledge, experience, and passion is devoted to fighting for their freedom. One of the most important benefits of having an attorney is being able to reach them every time you have a question. I charge a flat fee so whether you have one question, or a million questions, I am available 24/7 to give you answers and some peace of mind during this difficult time.
The probable cause standard for law enforcement to make an arrest is relatively low, so many people end up in handcuffs merely by being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Because of my experience as an Assistant State Attorney, I can analyze your case through the eyes of the State, and then find the weaknesses in the case against you. Just like every person, sometimes law enforcement officers make mistakes and I have the expertise to use those mistakes to get the best result for my clients.
And once the case is over, it's my mission as a member of this community to help direct my clients to other services that can help them get back on their feet, from education, to substance/alcohol abuse treatment, or mental health resources.
You won't find another criminal defense attorney that will work harder for you.
Call (407) 274-7501 or email firstname.lastname@example.org to schedule a consultation today!
There are two different types of misdemeanors under Florida law. A second degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to 60 days in a county jail or up to 6 months probation plus a fine of up to $500. A first degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in a county jail or probation and a fine of up to $1,000. Although you may be sentenced to a term of incarceration plus probation, the total term can never total more than a year for a first degree misdemeanor, and no more than 6 months for a second degree misdemeanor. Certain misdemeanors when committed multiple times may be charged as a felony.
There are six different types of felonies under Florida law. A third degree felony is punishable by up to 5 years in the Department of Corrections ("prison") or probation plus a fine of up to $5,000. A second degree felony is punishable by up to 15 years in the Department of Corrections ("prison") or probation plus a fine of up to $10,000. A first degree felony is punishable by up to 30 years in the Department of Corrections ("prison") or probation plus a fine of up to $10,000. Other felonies are punishable by up to life, mandatory life, or death. Additionally, there are sentencing enhancements for people with serious criminal histories. Sentencing reductions, also called downward departures, are sometimes permitted under the law which result in a lesser sentence.
You can commit a crime behind the wheel and not be arrested. Driving offenses, also known as a criminal traffic notice to appear, are often charged without an arrest where the law enforcement officer merely hands you something that looks like a ticket. Be aware that there is a very large difference between a civil infraction (like a speeding ticket), which is merely punishable by a fine, and a criminal traffic citation, which is actually a charging document for a misdemeanor. If you miss your court date (i.e. arraignment), then a warrant for your arrest will be issued.